Walk in the Woods

The winds is rustling the tall trees that fill my backyard. These trees have a mixture of yellow, green, and dirty brown leaves. These leaves symbolize life for me. We all go through different stages of our life, but it also seems as if it is a life cycle. I don’t know why but all I can think about is the poem November that we read in class. I know that it is October, but that is not the point. There are many correlations to the poem and my backyard. There is never really a complete silence in my backyard there is always something rustling around. The deer are always roaming. There are always ripples in the pond. I feel like my backyard is peaceful. It’s a pleasure to live in the woods there is always movement. The nature may be subtle but there is still movement even in Carrollton, Georgia. I don’t believe that you can force nature upon people. They have to sit and appreciate it. When I was in the woods, I could not hear that horrific pattern of the Doctor Beat. I had no kids yelling for me. It was just me in the woods. Whenever I got to the depths of my woods, all I could focus on was how cold it was. However, when I left I had no focus on the temperature outside. For the first time in what seems like forever, I had no outside thoughts. I have been burnt out for a while with football season and the start of junior year. This walk in the woods was exactly what I needed. I had a clear head. Now as soon as I walked back in my house I had a million notifications on my phone. To be quite honest it made me sad when I reached my house. It made me think that a walk in the woods is only temporary. The transcendentalists has it great because their walk in the woods was their reality. One day we will all be able to escape again to the woods. Escapes do not always have to be a horrible thing, they can actually be healing.

Leave a comment